don’t hound me

Houndstooth is a huge pattern for fall and winter.  As I looked up the history of houndstooth, I read that it is also referred to as dogstooth, or puppytooth when it comes in a really small version.  Typically a warm weather pattern, houndstooth is very versatile.  Just about any color can be worn with this pattern.

The other day I saw Leighton Meester wearing this Alexander McQueen silk houndstooth blouse.  I really, really, really wanted it.  It’s only $800.  Sure.  Let me get out my wallet.  I wish.  But alas, it’s no longer available for purchase.   Anyway, it’s super cute.  I haven’t found a (way cheaper) alternate yet.

Leighton Meester in Alexander McQueen blouse. No longer available.

The Limited has a houndstooth panel shiftdress right now for $89.90.  See below.

I also put some outfit and accessory ideas together on Polyvore.

Houndstooth outfits

Do you own any houndstooth items?  Will you be buying any this fall or winter?

5 thoughts on “don’t hound me

    • Oh I bet they are cute! You can do a reverse of any of these outfits I posted. So, for the first outfit you could sub the black boots for your black flats, but change the skirt to solid black or black pants or jeans. You can also mix prints, so if you had a black and white striped or polka dot top, the houndstooth flats would be cute with black pants or jeans! The second outfit, sub in a solid black jacket or sweater with the colored pants or jeans.

Leave a Reply

