Four Way Friday Part II

Here we are again!  We made it!  Another work week gone for those of us that follow the conventional 9-5.  If you missed Part I of Four Way Friday, check it out here.  It’s a new tradition here on Lessons In Style, where I take one piece and show you how to style it at least four ways, in four categories:  Work, Evening After Work, Casual Weekend, Dress Weekend.  You ready for this?

I received another note last week with the following question:

Dear Lessons In Style:

I thought skinny jeans were all the rage.  I went out and bought five pairs, all in different colors.  Now I see that celebrities are trending wider leg jeans this fall.  I tried a lot of the suggestions you gave us for skinny jeans on my straight leg jeans, but I’m not sure I’ve got it down right.  What do I do now?

Sincerely,

Pouty and Broke In My Skinny Jeans

“Dear Pouty and Broke No More (well, the broke part I can’t help you with):

I’m glad you asked this question.  Actually, the transition from what you can wear with skinny jeans to straight leg jeans shouldn’t be too different.  The true definition of straight leg jeans is that the leg width should be the same from top to bottom; no flaring, no thinning, nothing.  I have a pair on today and they are one of my favorites!  You can still do a lot with them.  The only thing you might find difficult is that depending upon the thickness of the jean leg, you probably won’t be able to tuck them into knee high boots.  But hey, that’s what all your skinny jeans are for!

P.S.  Skinny jeans are still the rage.  There are just a lot of different styles in jeans right now.  Don’t despair.

Here are four ideas for you!”

1)  Casual Jean Work.

If you can pull off jeans at work, go for it.  You CAN dress jeans up for work, but you can also really mess it up by going too casual.  If your goals is to look casual/dressy and professional, here are four outfit ideas.

Casual Jean Work.

2)  Dressy Jeans After Work.

If you are going out after work but you don’t want to change your entire outfit, just bring one piece with you to switch up.  Here you will see that I kept up most of the casual work outfit but only changed one element.

Dressy Jeans After Work.

3)  Weekend Jean Casual.

Dressing casual in jeans on the weekend does not have to be sloppy.  It takes just as much effort to put on these outfits as it does anything else and they are just as comfortable and cozy.

Weekend Jean Casual.

4)  Weekend Jean Dressy.

This is where you can have a lot of fun.  I like dressing up a pair of jeans for the weekend.  Do you?

Weekend Jean Dressy.

I hope you enjoyed this installment of Four Way Friday!  Will you try any of these ideas entering into this fall weekend?  What is your favorite combo?

5 thoughts on “Four Way Friday Part II

  1. Pingback: Four Way Friday Part III | Lessons In Style

  2. Pingback: Four Way Friday Part IV | Lessons In Style

  3. Pingback: tgif…almost | Lessons In Style

  4. Pingback: Four Way Friday Part V | Lessons In Style

  5. Pingback: Four Way Friday Part VII | Lessons In Style

Leave a Reply

