Four Way Friday Part IV

It happens every week – Friday!  The most recent installment of Four Way Friday is here.  This week it is all about the black knee-high boot.  Check out this question I received earlier this week from a weary reader:

Dear Lessons In Style:

I really want to invest in a pair of black knee-high boots for fall and winter.  There are so many options out there and I’m overwhelmed.  And I want something classic.  I don’t think I can pull off the over the knee look but I’m running into a lot of those boots at the stores and online.  Please help!

Sincerely,

Lost In A Sea Of Boots

Dear Lost At Sea No More:

First of all, if you want something classic, the over the knee boot look is not what you need (ahem, no Julia Roberts in Pretty Woman here).  Unless you are a runway supermodel (Hey!  You could be, I don’t know who all my readers are!) it’s a hard look to pull off and I don’t recommend going there.  If you are looking for a clean, classic look, stick with a simple boot in leather or suede and a 3 inch or below heel.  You will be most comfortable in these as they will allow you to wear them to work and play.  If you want a more casual look, you can also go for a flat equestrian style.  Oh!  And don’t forget to treat your boots with a leather or suede protector.  This is important to lengthen the life of your new investment.  I recommend Kiwi Super Protector.

Now!  Let’s look at some ways you can style your new boots.  Because after all, that’s what Four Way Friday is all about, right?  I take one piece and show you how to style it at least four ways, in four categories:  Casual Work, Evening After Work, Casual Weekend, Dressy Weekend.

1)  Black Knee-High Boot Casual-ish Work

You can easily substitute a flat boot for any of these looks.  Keep in mind that a flat boot is generally more casual, so if you are looking for a dressier outfit for work, you will want to stick with the higher heel.  Remember, keep it three inches or below!  It’s hard to be taken seriously in a heel you can hardly walk in.

Black Knee-High Boots For Work

2)  Black Knee-High Boots After Work

If you are going out after work but you don’t want to change your entire outfit, just bring one piece like a leather jacket or a statement necklace with you to switch up.  Here you will see that I kept up most of the casual work outfit but only changed one or two elements.  You might want to stay away from a flat boot for a night out because like I said above, it does look more casual.

Black Knee-High Boots After Work

3)  Black Knee-High Boots Casual-ish Weekend

Admittedly these are a little dressier than my typical recommendations for a casual weekend look.  Once again, you could add a flat boot to give off a more casual vibe.

Black Knee-High Boot Casual-ish Weekend

4)  Black Knee-High Boots Dressy Weekend

This is running a close first for my favorite Four Way Friday Dressy Weekend look yet.  I really want the dress on the far right and the purse from the third outfit.  Who’s gonna buy them for me???

Black Knee-High Boot Dressy Weekend

Don’t know where to shop for your new boots?

I was a huge fan of endless.com but they were recently bought by Amazon.  Check out the new shop here:  Amazonendless

Macy’s also has a great selection this year.

And check out DSW and Zappos.

Until next Friday!  And if you missed my other Four Way Friday installments here are some quick links:

Four Way Friday Part I

Four Way Friday Part II

Four Way Friday Part III

3 thoughts on “Four Way Friday Part IV

  1. Pingback: tgif…almost | Lessons In Style

  2. Pingback: Four Way Friday Part V | Lessons In Style

  3. Pingback: Four Way Friday Part VII | Lessons In Style

Leave a Reply

